LEVEL 12 1 O'CONNELL STREET SYDNEY

1 August 2024

## MEDIA RELEASE

## 2024 Japanese Foreign Minister's Commendation Recipients Announced

Today, 1 August, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan announced the recipients of the **Foreign Minister's Commendations** for FY 2024.

[MOFA media release available here.]

Among this year's recipients are four individuals from New South Wales, who are being recognised for their contributions to the promotion of economic relations between Japan and Australia, or for their contributions to the promotion of mutual understanding between Japan and Australia.

The recipients from NSW are:

**Graham Apthorpe** Chair of the 75th Anniversary of the Cowra Breakout For the promotion of mutual understanding between Japan and Australia

- Lawrance Ryan Chair of the 60th and 70th Anniversaries of the Cowra Breakout For the promotion of mutual understanding between Japan and Australia
- **Debra Hazelton** Vice President, Australia Japan Business Cooperation Committee (AJBCC) For the promotion of economic relations between Japan and Australia

**Wendy Holdenson** Director of Mitsui & Co. Australia For the promotion of economic relations between Japan and Australia

(Ends)