## The Hatoyama Cabinet

## Japan's New Foreign Minister

Mr Katsuya Okada is Japan's new minister for foreign affairs.

After graduating from

Tokyo University's Faculty of Law, in 1976 Mr Okada entered the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI—now the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry [METI]), serving until he resigned in 1988.

In 1990 Mr Okada was first elected to the House of Representatives (the lower house of Japan's parliament) as a member of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party (LDP). Three years later he left the LDP to help found the Japan Renewal Party (Shinseito); he was successfully re-elected and contributed to the founding of the Morihiro Hosokawa coalition government. (The Hosokawa coalition government ruled between August 1993 and June 1994, and these eleven months marked the only time that the LDP was out of power since 1955, up until the DPJ's victory this

Mr Okada's involvement with the Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ) dates back to its establishment in

August.)

1998. He helped found the DPJ and went on to serve in several senior party positions including as president and secretary-general.

The Minister's hobbies include watching movies, working out at the gym, reading and collecting frog figurines. He cites as his most respected person Oda Nobunaga, a very well known historical figure from the 16th century who played a key role in the unification of central Japan after a century of conflict.

A more detailed profile of Foreign Minister Okada can be seen at:

www.mofa.go.jp/about/hq/profile/okada.html

List of Cabinet Members	
Prime Minister	Yukio HATOYAMA
Deputy Prime Minister (Minister for State pre-designated by Cabinet Law provisions) Minister of State for National Strategy Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy, and Science and Technology Policy	Naoto KAN
Minister of Internal Affairs and Communications Minister of State for Promotion of Local Sovereignty	Kazuhiro HARAGUTI
Minister of Justice	Keiko CHIBA
Minister for Foreign Affairs	Katsuya OKADA
Minister of Finance	Hirohisa FUJII
Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology	Tatsuo KAWABATA
Minister of Health, Labour and Welfare Minister of State for Pension Reform	Akira NAGATSUMA
Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries	Hirotaka AKAMATSU
Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry	Masayuki NAOSHIMA
Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism Minister of State for Okinawa and Northern Territory Affairs, and Disaster Management	Seiji MAEHARA
Minister of Environment	Sakihito OZAWA
Minister of Defence	Toshimi KITAZAWA
Chief Cabinet Secretary	Hirofumi HIRANO
Chairman of the National Commission on Public Safety Minister of State for the Abduction Issue	Hiroshi NAKAI
Minister of State for Financial Services Minister of State for Postal Reform	Shizuka KAMEI
Minister of State for Consumer Affairs and Food Safety, Social Affairs, and Gender Equality	Mizuho FUKUSHIMA
Minister of State for Administrative Reform Minister of State for Civil Service Reform	Yoshito SENGOKU
List of Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretarie	
Director-General of the Cabinet Legislation I	Bureau
Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary	Yorihisa MATSUNO Koji MATSUI Kinya TAKINO
Director-General of the Cabinet Legislation Bureau	Reiichi MIYAZAKI